top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTommie

27Feb2020



"Eventually, we need to check out that half-price bookstore," The Beloved Kim said. The errands we were running weren't time sensitive, so I hung a right and we hit the stacks.


There was a respectable set of shelves filled near the front filled with old books: their "Nostalgia" section.


Old books are my weakness. Always have been.


Among those shelves I found an American History book (on the left) published in 1881. The Eclectic History of the United States. That's for my own entertainment. I am a big fan of history books from days gone by, especially ones that strive to offer the facts without taint of opinion. The forward of this book suggests this will be one of those. I can't wait to dive into it. It shows that it was published in January of 1881, just a couple of months before President Garfield was inaugurated for his tragically brief stint in The White House.


The book was $4 due to a little water damage, but there is no mildew smell to it, which is nice. At first glance it's a fabulous find. I can't help but wonder what journey took the book from the printer to my home over the course of 139 years.


Then there's a 1947 copy of Fundamentals of Naval Warfare (on the right), which checks so many boxes for me. Military shit that will appeal to this military brat? ☑ More than 60 years old? ☑ In good condition? ☑ Can be leaned on as a reference book for the Project Torpedo novel idea? ☑


It was $10. Also devoid of mildew smell. And it's remarkably thorough in its details about all things warship and naval base, which will be useful to me in working up the notes for the novel idea.


All told, a nice spur-of-the-moment outing.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page